Before-Class Information

  • All one-day classes begin at 7:45 am.  Doors open at 7:30 am.

  • Weekday evening classes start at 5:45 pm.

  • Please arrive 15 minutes before class for paperwork. 

  • Drinks, snacks, and free coffee are available.

  • There are frequent breaks.   

  • In all-day classes, we serve pizza or you may bring a bag lunch.

  • We provide targets, hearing and eye protection.

  • NO FIREARMS or AMMUNITION ARE ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM.

  • If you bring your own firearm, give it to your instructor to lock up.   

  • The range qualification requires at least 50 rounds of ammunition.

  • You may bring your own ammunition or purchase from us.

  • If you do NOT own a handgun, buy our Premium Ticket that includes the use of a 22LR semi-automatic pistol with the ammo you need for class.

  • The distances that students shoot from are 21 feet, 15 feet, and 9 feet.

After-Class Information

Within 6 months of completing the class, you must:

  • Go to your local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) office with your Application Receipt number (Your application and certification expire after six months).  

  • You will need a certified copy of your birth certificate or U.S. Passport

  • This is when you pay the state application fee (see COST button Below)

  • Upon application submittal at the DMV, you must register online or over the phone with L1 for your fingerprint processing, which is required for the applicant background investigation.  The DMV examiner will provide further details about this process, such as the appropriate contact information.

  • After fingerprinting, it may take 6-12 weeks for final permit processing/issuance of your permit.

  • Your Handgun Carry Permit will be delivered to you by U.S. Mail.

CLASS HIGHLIGHTS

  • Firearm safety

  • Basic pistol terms

  • Basic handgun and ammunition instruction

  • Basic firing range protocol

  • Shooting fundamentals

  • Firearms Qualification

  • Weapon and ammunition selection

  • Self-defense legal fundamentals

  • TN and Federal law relating to handgun carry

  • When the use of deadly force may be justified

  • Criminal and civil ramifications of using of deadly force

YOU WILL NEED:

  • A Valid TN Driver's License with photo, or 

  • A Valid TN Photo ID

  • A handgun (or rent from us)

  • 50 rounds of ammunition (Frontier Firearms sells ammunition and rents firearms wth ammunition for the course)

  • Comfortable seasonal clothing (women should avoid low cut tops or sweaters in order to avoid hot shell casings. No sandals please)

  • Pencil and paper

  • Pizza will be served or you may bring a bag lunch (we have a drink machine and snacks for purchase)

Guarantee

If before the end of this class you feel we have failed to fullfill our duty to conduct an infromative class meeting all State requirements just stand up and say so in class. We will refund your money on the spot!

 

That's our promise to you!

Don't forget to go online to submitt your State Handgun Permit Application.

You must bring your Tennessee driver’s licnese with your photo on it or a Tennessee photo ID card to class.

You may register and pay online, call or come to the store.  Seats in our classes are limited and must be reserved with payment.  ​Space is limited. Please reserve your seat now.

PLEASE NOTE: Mandatory class length is eight hours not including lunch, review and written test. 

  • One day classes are held weekends.

  • Tues / Thursday classes are held in two sessions.          

1. About the CCW Class - Before & After

Here's how class will shape up

The Handgun Safety Course or Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit Class qualifies students to gain the certification to lawfully carry a firearm in both Tennessee and states honoring the Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit.  Frontier Firearms teaches the Handgun Carry Permit class in our state inspected handgun academy and indoor shooting range. Each of our instructors is State and Nationally certified.   Also, please note that we play by the book -- we don't take shortcuts or violate regulations. When you experience our class, you get the real deal. 

About our CCW course

As required by the State of Tennessee all students must successfully pass this class to qualify for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit.  

Classes are open to men and women sixteen years or older.  However, you must be within six months of your 21st birthday for the class to qualify you for a handgun permit.

 

Mandatory class length is eight hours not including lunch. One day classes are held weekends. Classes spread over two days are held weekday evenings. Arrive 15 minutes early.

 

Students must pass a short written exam and a shooting qualification (let us know if you have special needs for either the written exam or range portion of the class).

Students will spend time in our classroom and range in a comfortable learning environment to understand basic pistol nomenclature, safety, ownership responsibilities, shooting fundamentals and handgun selection factors.  Additionally, students will learn applicable Tennessee laws about the use of deadly force.

CLASS TIMES

Saturday 

7:45A to 4:00P

Sunday

7:45A to 4:00P

Tuesday / Thursday 

5:45P to 10:00P

both evenings

  • $13 All day Range Pass (use anytime) 

  • $25 Off Discount Coupon  

  • Eye Protection

  • Ear Protection

  • Day of Class Range Fees

  • Targets

  • Lunch (Saturday and Sunday only)

  • Reserved Seating

All Tickets Include:

for only $15 more

Premium Tickets include:

  • All of the above, plus

  • Handgun 

  • Ammunition 

Must be completed before class
See Full Year Class Listing

Net cost less than $7 after deducting lunch, free range pass, & $25 coupon

Frontier Firearms Family Shooting Center located in Kingston, TN is the largest locally owned Knoxville area shooting range and gun store and is the only gun store that lets you "try before you buy" - never get stuck with a lemon - test fire before you buy.  Since 2000 Frontier has provided East Tennessee shooting enthusiasts with quality new and used firearms, handguns, rifles, shotguns, ammunition, and shooting accessories including the latest in tactical arms and gear.   We have guns for sale from all major brands including Smith & Wesson, Glock, Benelli, Stoeger, Uberti, Sig Sauer, Springfield, Taurus, Ruger and more. Additionally, we have some of the most knowledgeable staff and best firearms instructors around; each staff member is NRA certified. We train thousands of people each year. Indeed, few can match the experience and knowledge of our staff. Gun classes include NRA courses, Tennessee EnhancedHandgun Carry Permit (HCP) and Concealed Carry Permit (CCP) classes, concealed carry classes  TNCCP, women's gun classes, beginning, intermediate, advanced, and the private handgun, CCW, and self-defense instruction.

Range Hours

Last Shooters allowed in the range 1 hour before store closing.

Bible Gateway
Brant Williams has been an NRA life member since 1980
Frontier Firearms Family Shooting Center support the NSSF since 2000.

Copyright © 2000-2020 Frontier Firearms, LLC. All Rights Reserved.  No Anti-Gun Legislators, Lobbyists, or Cranks were harmed in the making of this website.